Friday, April 19, 2013

Remastered Classic Modern Jazz LPs Cuts on "Jazz-O-Rama" Saturday, April 20, 3:30 pm ET on CRAGG!

Count Basie, Art Blakey, Oscar Peterson, Dave Brubeck, more. Saturdays as part of The Joe Bev 3-Hour Block, which includes The Comedy-O-Rama Hour & The Joe Bev Experience, starting 2:30 pm ET, 1:30 CT, 11:30 PT streamed over!

The remastered music of Clifford Brown & Max Roach, Lee Morgan, and Dave Brubeck will fill the air on the 38th edition of Joe Bev's Jazz-O-Rama Hour airing Saturday, April 20th at 3:30 pm ET / 12:30 pm PT, at (part of Joe Bev 3-Hour Block, beginning at 2:20 pm ET / 11:30 am PT).


This Saturday Joe Bev presents 78 RPM & LP Jazz with a Sense of Humor:"My Favorite LP Cuts of the 1950s & 60s", including: Count Basie, Art Blakey, Oscar Peterson, Dave Brubeck, Lee Morgan, Clifford Brown & Max Roach, Miles Davis, and Horace Silver.

1. Clifford Brown & Max Roach Quintet - Parisian Thoroughfare (self titled, 1955)
2.  Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers - Dat Dere ("The Big Beat", 1960)
3. The Miles Davis Quintet - Seven Steps to Heaven (title track, 1963)
4. The Dave Brubeck Quartet - Countdown: Time in Outer Space (title track, 1962) 
5. Art Blakey And The Jazz Messengers - For Minors Only ("Hard Drive", 1957)
6. Count Basie - Blues In Hoss' Flat ("Chairman of the Board", 1958)
7. Oscar Peterson Trio - Night Train (title track, 1962)
8. Lee Morgan - Untitled Boogaloo ("The Procrastinator", 1969)
9. Horace Silver - "Baghdad Blues" ("Blowin' The Blues Away", 1959)

Clifford Brown & Max Roach
Parisian Thoroughfare is a Richie Powell arrangement of the Bud Powell composition performed by the short-lived Clifford Brown & Max Roach Quintet, and their debut self-tilted studio album, recorded August 2, 3 & 6, 1954 and February 24 & 25, 1955, and released in 1955 on the EmArcy label. The producer was Bob Shad. Personnel: Clifford Brown – trumpet; Harold Land – tenor saxophone; George Morrow – bass; Richie Powell – piano; Max Roach – drums

Dat Dere was first recorded in 1960 by Art Blakey and The Jazz Messengers on the album "The Big Beat". Oscar Brown Jr. penned the lyrics later for the song's release on his 1961 d├ębut album "Sin & Soul...and Then Some".

Seven Steps to Heaven was the eighth studio album by Miles Davis, recorded May 14, 1963 in New York, and released in 1963 by Columbia Records. Personnel: Miles Davis – trumpet, George Coleman – tenor sax, Herbie Hancock – piano, Ron Carter – bass, Tony Williams – drums.

Dave Brubeck Quartet
Countdown: Time in Outer Space is the 1962 Dave Brubeck composition dedicated to John Glenn, recorded for the The Dave Brubeck Quartet Columbia studio album of the same name.  Personnel: Dave Brubeck – piano; Paul Desmond – alto saxophone; Joe Morello – drums; Eugene Wright – double bass.

For Minors Only was recorded by Art Blakey And The Jazz Messengers for the album "Hard Drive", recorded in New York City, NY October 11, 1957. Personnel: Bill Hardman – Trumpet; Johnny Griffin – Tenor Sax; Junior Mance – Piano; Spanky DeBrest – Bass; Art Blakey –  Drums.

Frank Foster wrote Blues In Hoss' Flat and performed on the 1958 Roulette album "Chairman of the Board." Basie is accompanied on this March 28, 1958, recording by Thad Jones, Snooky Young, Wendell Culley and Joe Newman on trumpet, Henry Coker, Al Grey and Benny Powell on trombone, Marshal Royal on clarinet/alto sax, the composer on alto sax/flute, Billy Mitchell and Frank Foster on tenor sax, Charlie Fowlkes on baritone sax, Freddie Green on guitar, Eddie Jones on bass and Sonny Payne on drums. 

Oscar Peterson Trio
Oscar Peterson Trio's album "Night Train" was released in 1962 by Verve Records, featured Oscar Peterson on piano, Ray Brown on bass, and Ed Thigpen on drums. It was produced by Norman Granz.

Untitled Boogaloo was first recorded for "The Procrastinator" the album by jazz trumpeter Lee Morgan released on the Blue Note label, featuring performances by Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Bobby Hutcherson, Herbie Hancock, Ron Carter and Billy Higgins. It was originally issued in 1978 as a double LP featuring tracks recorded in three different sessions: July 1967, September 1969 and October 1969.  Final track from Morgan's 1967-1969 "Sonic Boom" sessions album. Personnel on the two sessions: Lee Morgan (trumpet); David "Fathead" Newman, George Coleman (tenor saxophone); Julian Prester (trombone); Cedar Walton, Harold Mabern (piano); Ron Carter, Walter Booker (bass); Billy Higgins, Mickey Roker (drums).

Horace Silver
Horace Silver's "Baghdad Blues" was recorded: August 29, 1959, and released on the Blue Note Classic "Blowin' The Blues Away", with Horace Silver on piano; Blue Mitchell on trumpet; Junior Cook on tenor saxophone; Gene Taylor on bass, and Louis Hayes on drums.

The Joe Bev Experience Podcast on iTunes 
OR click on the link to the right to hear us online
OR click on the link to the right to hear us online

Joe Bev
Joe Bevilacqua (Joe Bev) has been producing radio in many genres since 1971 when he was 12. At 19 in 1980, Bev became the youngest person to produce a radio show for public radio. He co-hosted The Jazz Show with Garret Gega in the early 80s, a four hour a week mix classic jazz and comedy. Bev also worked for WBGO, Jazz 88 in Newark, NJ and produced documentaries for WNYC New York Public Radio on jazz legends including Louis Armstrong, Wynton Marsalis, Count Basie, Woody Herman, Cab Calloway, and Lionel Hampton. 

Bev also produces, directs, writes and voices half of The Comedy-O-Rama Hour, now in his 55th week, which is has been highest rated radio show on Cult Radio A-Go-Go! for many weeks. Joe Bev's other weekly radio show, The Jazz-O-Rama Hour debuted at #2. 

Last year, the veteran voice actor added his third hour for Cult Radio, called The Joe Bev Experience which airs right after The Jazz-O-Rama Hour. 

More about Waterlogg Productions at


Louis Armstrong's New Orleans, with Wynton Marsalis: A Joe Bev Musical Sound Portrait

by Joe Bevilacqua Narrated by Joe Bevilacqua, Winton Marsalis, Donald Newlove, Leonard Lopate, Louis Armstrong

Length: 59 min. 

Veteran radio producer Joe Bevilacqua hosts this entertaining, informative hour, recorded in the French Quarter of New Orleans and featuring jazz great Wynton Marsalis, jazz author and historian Donald Newlove, WNYC Radio talk show host Leonard Lopate, members of the Preservation Hall Jazz Band, and others, on the origins of jazz, and the life and music of legendary trumpeter Louis Armstrong. Also featured is the music of Armstrong throughout his long career, and rare recordings, including audio from a 1957 CBS TV documentary with Edward R. Murrow.



No comments:

Post a Comment

GET THE WATERLOGG PRODUCTION APP and listen to all the PODCASTS in on place!

Waterlogg Podcasts
Powered by Conduit Mobile

Waterlogg Productions Video